Dan Fleeman of Team Metakltek Kuota wins the CiCLE Classic

May 10, 2017

In short – After a break of eight riders dominated the 2017 CiCLE Classic came down to a small selection of riders and from that, several breaks emerged including a solo move from Matt Holmes of Madison Genesis but it was a two up sprint that decided the race after Dan Fleeman and Hayden McCormick escaped and despite a frantic chase behind, they held on by several seconds with Fleeman getting the win.

Dan Fleeman, riding for Metaltek-Kuota, who are based in Melton Mowbray, where the race finishes. Wins the 2017 CiCLE Classic, ahead of Hayden McCormick and what was left of a very select group, where Brenton Jones outsprinted Rory Townsend for third.

170 or so riders lined up in Oakham for the start of this unique race which the tyre manufacturers probably enjoy more due to the amount of punctures, which must run to three figures!